List      Calendar

Stop Making Sense : A Talking Heads Celebration

Fri, Jun 29, 2018 at 9pm

at Kremwerk
  • 21+
This event has passed.

A dance party celebrating the music and influence of The Talking Heads.

 

Among the most adventurous bands in rock history, the Talking Heads drew from funk, minimalism and African and Brazilian music in promulgating a new sound that was both visionary and visceral. Evolving from sweaty post-punk weirdos opening for the Ramones at CBCG to the well oiled funk automatons depicted in Jonathan Demme's seminal 1984 concert film, Stop Making Sense, the band never lost sight of their guiding principle: that being alive in the postmodern world is a deeply strange, deeply unsettling proposition. We couldn't agree more.

 

Expect to hear music from all of The Talking Heads albums, rare remixes, side projects (Tom Tom Club), solo projects (David Byrne), collaborators (Bernie Worrell, Brian Eno) as well as from the many artists indelibly influenced by this legendary group.

 

Music selected by: Kadeejah Streets, Ben Tactic, Abbie Gobeli and Ben Meadow

 

$7 advance, $10 at the door

 

21+

 

9pm


Kremwerk

1809 Minor Ave
Seattle, Wa 98101

Share This Event

Related Shows

Thu, Jan 17 at 9pm

Studio 4/4 presents Habitat w/ Harvard Bass

Fri, Jan 18 at 10pm - Sat, Jan 19 at 4am

Research ft. Martyn & Jason Kendig

Sat, Jan 19 at 10pm

AJA — Live in Seattle

Thu, Jan 24 at 9pm

Studio 4/4 Presents Habitat w/ Huxley

Fri, Jan 25 at 7pm

A Drag Tribute to Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Encore Presentation

Fri, Jan 25 at 10pm

Gradients. ft. Main Course Takeover w/ Tony Quattro

Sat, Jan 26 at 7pm

Kings ~ A Drag King Show ~ 90s

Thu, Jan 31 at 9pm

Studio 4/4 presents Habitat w/ J. Worra

Fri, Feb 1 at 7pm

Safeword

Fri, Feb 1 at 10pm

Depth ft. Regis (Downwards)

Sat, Feb 2 at 10pm

SIN: Valentine's Edition 2019

Thu, Feb 7 at 9pm

Studio 4/4 presents Habitat w/ Matt Lange

Fri, Feb 8 at 10pm

Noise Complaint ft. Botnek

Thu, Feb 14 at 7pm

Gold Dust Women: Drag Does Fleetwood Mac [KW 5 YR]

Fri, Feb 15 at 10pm - Sat, Feb 16 at 3am

Shook: Machinedrum & HomeSick